Principal of the Year Nominees Announced

Principal of the Year Nominees Announced
Posted on 11/06/2020
Principal of Year Nominees

The School District of Palm Beach County proudly announces the four nominees for the 2021 Principal of the Year. The nominees were selected by the Regional Offices and represent each of the four regions of the School District:

Rachel Capitano – Don Estridge High Tech Middle School, South Region
Phillip D’Amico – Watson B. Duncan Middle School, North Region
Derrick Hibler – K.E. Cunningham/Canal Point Elementary School, Glades Region
Adrienne Howard – U.B.Kinsey/Palmview Elementary School, Central Region

The nominees were surprised with the news of their nominations and congratulated by Superintendent Donald E. Fennoy II on November 6.

Capitano helped open Don Estridge Middle School in 2004, when she was a language arts teacher. She has also served as an assistant principal and program planner for the District before becoming principal at Sandpiper Shores Elementary and later Del Prado Elementary. She rose to principal of Don Estridge Middle in 2017. The school has maintained an A-rating for several years.

D’Amico has been with the District since 2000, beginning as the director of the Academy of Finance choice program at William T. Dwyer High School. He later became the assistant principal at Watson B. Duncan Middle for 10 years before being named the principal in 2014. Watson B. Duncan Middle has a lengthy history as an A-rated school.

Dr. Hibbler previously held positions as an assistant principal at Palm Beach Central High and Palm Beach Lakes High. He has been a principal for 18 years, the last eight at Canal Point Elementary. During his time on the campus, the school has improved from a C-rating in 2018 to a B-rating in 2019.

Howard is a proud alumna of Florida A&M University. She previously served as an assistant principal at Roosevelt Elementary School, and has been the principal of U.B. Kinsey for 12 years. U.B. Kinsey has a fine arts choice program and has maintained a B-rating for the past two years.

The nominees will be celebrated and the winner will be announced in January 2021 during the Principal of the Year/Assistant Principal of the Year ceremony presented by The Education Foundation of Palm Beach County, and sponsored by Comcast.

The District’s winner will be submitted to the state of Florida for its Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership. The Award was established in 1988 to recognize exemplary principals for their contributions to their schools and communities.

The program honors principals that have spearheaded initiatives to increase student performance, promote safe learning environments, and establish partnerships with parents and community members.